Dear Comic Sans

So every graphic designer I know refuses to use Comic Sans. They hate it, loathe it, even some of them wishes it never existed. That’s extreme. I admit when I was a kid, Comic Sans was my favourite. Because it looks kinda cute and casual. I hated Times New Roman back then (I love it now, I think it’s so classic and pretty. Its overused and misunderstood in my opinion). I used to type a letter to my cousin in Comic Sans. Imaginary birthday party invitation? Dear diary moment? I did it all back then.

As I grew up, I tend to avoid it. Especially when I discovered there are so many gorgeous beautiful and sexy fonts out there. I left Comic Sans for good. It looks tacky, lazy, comic-i (d’oh?).

But now, I found this stop animation. Its hilarious. Made me think, hey maybe Comic Sans is just another overused and misunderstood font like Times New roman. Maybe we should give it another chance. Maybe I should put it into my typography project. What do you think?

I’m Comic Sans, Asshole from joehollier on Vimeo.

Video via http://www.swiss-miss.com/

About marisantosa

Graphic designer // Sunset hunter // Mars from Pingu On Mars

One response to “Dear Comic Sans

  1. Pingback: Comic Sans Strikes Back! | dream catch me

Leave a Reply

